Stone Lion or Sang-Shir, as the Hamadanis call it, is
a tremendous stone statue of a lion in the square of
the same name in south-east Hamadan. It is 2.5 m
long, 1.50 m wide and 1.20 m high. Today, the area
surrounding this square is a city park. Formerly
attributed to Parthian, Achaemenian, and Parthian
periods, it is in fact the handiwork of
Alexander's craftsmen, built probably in commemoration
of one of the Macedonia's fallen generals, Hephaestion.
It now rests upon a stone base that was provided for
it in I949 AD. During the Parthian period the
statue was placed near one of the entrance
gates to the town, which was thus called Bab
ol-Asad or the Gate of the Lion.
Some Hamadanis believe that their city has been
spellbound by the presence of this statue. In 931 AD
when Mard Avij ot liar captured the city, he
had the statue's hands broken. After that incident
not much attention was paid to the monument
until 1959 when the Archaeological Department
arranged a suitable granite pedestal from Mount
Alvand for the statue in its new location. To the
northeast of the statue is the Musalla Hill, where the
ramparts of a Parthian fortress have been found.