Tappeh Hasanlu (Orumieh)

.

Visa Travel Agents Tours Hotels Flights About Iran GeneralIran Embassies Contact us


Tappeh Hasanlu Orumieh
This is a long-Iived tell 85 km south of Orumieh and 12 km east of Naqadeh (itself a historic area with many relics of ancient civilization of Iran), excavated by Dyson from 1965 on. Actually, it consists of a 20- meter high central hill surrounded by a number of 15-meter high peripheral hills. Historical evidence indicate that the central hill formed the main edifice and the its citadel was a town with temples and administrative parts, the population of which resided on the encircling hills. One can discern the general layout of the citadel and parts of the foundations of a ring wall. We can also identify two rooms with columns- of which nothing remains except the stone bases -and a clay pedestal. Nearby are two store rooms where large terra-cotta jars -used for storing wine -and funnels were discovered. There is a House of Pearls named after the many white pearls and shells that were found there; these probably came from the Persian Gulf and the Indian Ocean islands. Craftsmen and merchants took refuge there in times of war, abandoning their houses outside the walls. It is best known for a gold bowl with relief decoration of weather gods and scenes from the mythology of the Hurri unearthed during the summer of 1958. This had been looted abo800 BC by soldiers from Urartu (a kingdom adjoining Lake Van, to the east) who, however, were killed by the collapse of aburning roof before they could escape. The bowl is related artistically to the finds from Marlik and Ziwieh

 
 
 
Copyright 2002-2006 ISTA, INC.